9 Month Nugget

IMG_6112

Is this really the same child we brought home from the hospital nine months ago?

D-baby as he’s been affectionately referred to over the last many months only has a few more months of being a baby in him on the calendar but lately I’ve been struck by how much more of a baby he seems to me than J did at this age. Perhaps it’s all contrast and because I didn’t know any better with J, but D is still (despite his girth) so little and helpless and that’s fine with me! I’ll treasure each baby day I get with him.

He weighed in at 22 lbs. at the doctor yesterday and was 28 inches long. I guess I didn’t record where J was at this stage in life but D is definitely bigger. He’s wearing clothes that J wore well over a year old. When people see him they comment about 1 of 3 things – his cheeks (“Hey cute cheeks” is my recent favorite from a teacher at J’s school), his eyes, or his size. I’ve got a nice right bicep built up that’s for sure.

He has three teeth to boast about and the 4th is an any day now situation and he’s finally totally mobile, though not interested in walking assisted yet. He rolls and scoots and lunges to get wherever he wants and he really does throw his weight around. He won’t sit still in my lap for any long period of time anymore without throwing his body in another direction.

Overall temperament he’s an incredibly smiling baby and we have yet to have a melt-down despite days without afternoon naps due to teething and travel/general busyness.

Without further ado, I give you his 6-9 month video…set to a song that unlike some of my other selections has literally been the soundtrack to the last three months of my  life since J is OBSESSED with it. But I felt like it fit. We’ve had an unseasonably warm winter, D’s got big blue eyes, and we often sing this song and sub out “Blue” for D. Anywho…

One thought on “9 Month Nugget

Leave a Reply

