8 months

img_6057Little D turned eight months old yesterday. Though a small portion of my brain is shocked by that fact, the rest of it can’t remember what life was like without him. Hasn’t his two tooth grin always been a source of joy? Haven’t I always known the sound of his giggle and the delight of having him snuggled in my lap?

Milestones: He cut his second tooth in the last month and he’s honed his ability to roll. He like J was at this age – is good at scooting backward but isn’t moving forward yet.

Sickness & Sleep: It’s been a rough month for nighttime sleep and naps (including a couple of days without an afternoon nap at all..ayi). Between the teething and his first cold we’ve been seeing a lot of each other in the dark hours. At night, I find myself less annoyed by it with him, perhaps because I’m just in the drudges of mom life or perhaps because subconsciously I know it’s one-on-one time regardless of the hour. During the day- I’ve been thankful for Alex’s help around the house and with children when I’ve needed to work.

Personality & Language: He giggles a lot and seems relatively good at entertaining himself. He’s alright to be left to play as long as he knows I’m close by. He’s quite attached to me and prefers me to anyone else in the room. He’s got da-da and ma-ma down which is so fun because J was so slow in saying ma-ma.

Aside from the teething and sick days we’re in a rhythm (because we’ve had the entire month to ourselves!)  and it feels good. I’ll share that in a separate post  just for record keeping.

One thought on “8 months

Leave a Reply

