We’ve Got a Pray-er

A vingette to remind myself…

I’m not a good pray-er (someone who prays a lot) even though I know it’s vital for my faith. But I made a resolution for 2015 to appreciate nature more and to be thankful for the beauty around me. I started simply by making the background images on my computer rotating nature pictures from Bing. That’s been good.

We spend Alex’s spring break here:
IMG_1917 IMG_1948And that was really good.

But far and away the best thing so far to help me keep my resolution has been this boy.
IMG_1927
He’s a pray-er. He literally will stop playing outside (where he wants to spend every waking moment), fold his hands and wait for me to pray. Seriously. It’s weird. But it’s been amazing for my soul. He won’t go back to playing until I say “amen”. (As an aside for anyone wondering, we taught him to wait to eat until after we pray have not yet modeled prayer to him outside of mealtimes).

So…while I sit outside with him and he digs in the dirt and watches the ants and picks up sticks, rocks, and pine cones, I offer dozens of short prayers of thanks to my God who “formed the mountains by his power” (Psalm 65:6) and declares that “every animal of the forest is mine, and the cattle on a thousand hills. I know every bird in the mountains,and the insects in the fields are mine.” (Psalm 50:10-11) and finally asks me to “Praise the name of the Lordfor his name alone is exalted; his splendor is above the earth and the heavens. And he has raised up for his people a horn, the praise of all his faithful servants, of Israel, the people close to his heart.” (Psalm 148:13-14).

Resolute indeed and awed by how I’m already being challenged by this little boy.

IMG_1944

One thought on “We’ve Got a Pray-er

Leave a Reply

