In the Bleak Mid-Winter

IMG_1735this song is just lovely – the view out my window could be titled the same. The sky is gray, the temperature is cold, and we have about an inch of snow on the ground.

It’s been a while since I wrote. Lack of inspiration and lots of feeling of transition in my heart have been the root causes. Like many others in the blog-sphere, the turning of a new calendar page makes me pause to think through the big W’s of writing (why, what, when). This space is my journal, my memories, my musings. I’ve decided on a new “header phrase” for it and it very much encapsulates how I want to move forward with this space – 2015 and beyond.

“the goings on of our house and the people who call it home”

I mentioned transitions in my heart. Though I don’t have fully formed thoughts to share yet, I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about the idea of “putting down roots” and “home” and “raising little J”. The longer I live in this town, the more it grows on me. The more I learn about what’s here, the more adventures I want to have here. There are very few house projects left on my list that don’t require buckets of money and I feel settled. Content. Organized. At peace. At peace enough to enjoy the Duplo cars under my kitchen table and the little arms wrapped around my legs while I do the dishes and stalking birds and squirrels in the front yard.

One thought on “In the Bleak Mid-Winter

  1. Laura, I love reading your posts and keeping up with you and your family. James is precious!!! The picture above is priceless. Love you all…would love to see you….

Leave a Reply

