Motherly Musing

It’s no secret I love being a hostess. This weekend I hosted my third baby shower of the last five months but the first one ever in Williamsburg or in my own home.

I choose a rustic and pink theme and tried to keep things simple with both the decor and the food. I opted for a craft (onesie decoration) instead of games and kept it short and sweet.

IMG_1643 IMG_1645 IMG_1646 IMG_1650 I wrote the following devotional thought/charge to the mom-to-be and I want to record it here because it’s as much for me as it was for her.

________________________________________________________________________

My motherhood credentials aren’t nearly as robust as some of the women gathered here today, but nonetheless, I want to offer a quick word of encouragement to you R as you prepare in the coming weeks to go through labor and delivery and actually become a mother.

It’s struck me a number of times in the past year and half, that in the information age where we can Google anything and everything or find books on any number of nuances of raising children, that besides the command to “love our children” in Titus 2, I see no other passages that address the practical tasks and responsibilities mothers are met with every day. And I guess if I were not familiar with Christianity that would really surprise me, especially in today’s day I can find the opinions on everything.

And of course, I’ve been tempted as we all are to indulge in the ‘wisdom of the world’ as I’ve embraced my role over the past months. And though I haven’t been a mother long, this is a lesson I want to pass along to you even before you start. If you haven’t already done so, I encourage you to take a step back and realize that your role of mother is not unconnected with your discipleship in Christ and it’s certainly not disconnected from the rest of your Christian life. While there may not be any passages that provide you with direct instruction about anything having to do with the day to day care of your little one, the instruction is everywhere else in Scripture because the instruction is just preserver, be a disciple, “stay the course” . Stay the course that God commands for all of his children; stay the course that he’s been teaching you since you committed your life to him; stay the course that you and husband have learned together through your marriage; and stay the course that you’ve been learning from those who have gathered to celebrate with you today and as a member of our church.

And so with that in mind, I want to read a passage for you, that is practical instruction for your discipleship in Christ and contains nuggets your motherhood journey. I encourage you to listen to this passage and consider how it applies to the relationship you will build with your daughter.

Colossians 3:12-17
Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. Bear with each other and forgive one another if any of you has a grievance against someone. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.

Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful. Let the message of Christ dwell among you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom through psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit, singing to God with gratitude in your hearts. And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

Leave a Reply

