Eight Months

IMG_46591

This morning when SBJ woke up, he looked like a little boy. Over the weekend Alex and I both remarked to each other that he felt heavy. I weighed him today and he’s 20lbs!

Of course, there are a few baby traits hanging around but we’re inching toward that 1 year mark and it’s obvious. His personality is coming out, he exhibits his will over his toys and his food, and I’m pretty sure he’s figured out that he can make us laugh.

He’s not crawling yet but he’s got the up-on-all fours and rocking thing down.
He’s not walking yet, but he’s got really strong abs and can pull himself up to a standing position from seated if he has someone’s fingers to use for leverage. He’s also a lot more purposeful in his rolling activity and can stand on his own for a few seconds without anything to hold onto a for a few minutes if he’s holding onto the coffee table.
He’s working on teeth numbers 3 and 4 and it’s been rough on him. A few nights ago I (for the first time in his young life) think that I spent more of my early morning hours rocking him in his room than in my bed. Poor little man just wanted to be cuddled all night. Needless to say it’s been a few days of schedule to the wind, buffet is always open, where in the world is his Tylenol, make him happy kind of life.
His favorite activities these days include taking things out of baskets and off shelves and eating summer fruit including watermelon, strawberries, and nectarines. He can’t get enough!

Though I’m not around him constantly because I’m working, he’s a total momma’s boy and I get the biggest smiles whenever I come into the room. He’s also got this adorable affinity for holding my hair and sucking his thumb when he’s near me and it’s become a staple of our bedtime routine. He’s also totally in love with his daddy. It’s clear that SBJ wants Alex’s attention at dinner and he is down-right giddy the first few minutes they spend together after Alex gets home from work. They have a thing…and it melts my heart.

Tonight when I put him to bed, he feel asleep in my arms and I just held him for about 15 minutes…thinking and loving on him. Remarking as I have many times in the last few days at his hands. They’re growing. The soft, pudgy baby mit-like hands are becoming long-fingered little boy hands. And wondering. Wondering what the world will be like when he’s 15, what he’ll think of me, what he’ll love and hate and desire, and about how clueless I am about all that we have yet to face together. One things for sure, I love him more than when we met for the first time 8 months ago and if my love trajectory continues – all will be well.

One thought on “Eight Months

  1. I love seeing a daddy with their kiddo – I remember remarking that I had a whole new love for Josh seeing him with Ella.

Leave a Reply

