Dreamfeed

I believe it’s a concept that is attributed to Tracy Hoggs who wrote Secrets of a Baby Whisperer (click here for my other post of this book) but whoever came up with it, I love it. Essentially it’s the last feeding of the day that’s given to baby without truly waking them up before mama retires for the night. I’ve grown to love it even more since SBJ has been sleeping through the night.

I love it because it’s such a tender time with little SBJ. I keep the lights low and keep him wrapped in his blankets. I pick him up and he instantly cuddles up to me. I think he gets roused from his sleep though he usually keeps his eyes closed. He’s eager to eat but the act of it lulls him back to sleep quickly and it’s the feeding I work at the most to make sure he gets enough to make it through the night.

It’s really after he’s done that is the real joy though. It’s the only time during the day that I hold him when he’s truly sleeping (since he’s sleep trained to fall asleep on his own for naps/bed). I get to feel the whole weight of his body as it rests on my arm and my lap. His breathing is so shallow and so slow. He’s so relaxed and it’s so precious.

How do I make sure that I remember what these moments feel like? Perhaps by writing about them here. I know they are fleeting because soon he won’t need this feeding, but I want to keep the memory of the tender moments when I just get to hold my sleeping first born in his dimly lit nursery and my mommy heart just gushes with love.

One thought on “Dreamfeed

Leave a Reply

