SBJ @ 1 Month, the little days

 

IMG_19631

Over the weekend our precious little guy turned one month old.

Quick stats
Weight – about 10 lbs ; Length – 22 inches
Interests – the typical baby stuff…eating, making diapers, and sleeping. He still loves his pacifier but is clearly trying to get his hands in his mouth but often settles for his wrist.
Sleeping through the night? Nope. But he’s gone a couple of 4 hour stretches!
Happy baby? Yes, still. He’ll fuss when it’s time to eat or sleep but otherwise, he’s calm and nice to be around.

In the middle of reflecting on how amazing it is that we’ve managed to keep him alive for that long and visiting with my aunt and uncle who spent the weekend with us, I managed to snap this picture on his one month birthday. Hoping to chronicle each month milestone in a similar way so that we have 12 of them on his one-year birthday.

And yes, it’s crazy that he’s already (more than!) a month old. And yet, I find myself longing for him to be older. Because let’s be honest, little babies are kind of boring! I find myself longing to hear his voice. To truly play with him. And to hear him tell me that he loves me.

Last night Alex and I had a good conversation about treasuring the “little” days. The days when he needs me to take care of him. And the days when he is just little and oh so cuddly. The days when I can kiss him as many times as I want or mess up his hair and not get yelled at or told to stop. The days when, even though I haven’t yet heard him say “i love you”, I can clearly see it in his little eyes.

And so, I’ve tried to do that today and I think it’s worked. There is a lot of joy in taking the day at his pace and in holding him tightly. I’ve also been reflecting on Scriptures and hymns that remind us of the fleeting nature of life and the unchanging character of God. And this morning the words of Colossians 3 were fresh on my heart…”And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.”  Col. 3:17. Momma mantra.

Leave a Reply

